Lab Tests/Blood Tests + Next Steps..

I waited 34 days for my period (at least it came so I am not complaining). 18 vials of blood drawn from me and results came out the next morning (super fast!). Hubby did his 2 weeks ago as he could do it any time.

Insurance paid for these tests which totaled to a couple of thousands yay!

This time round, I had to go to my doctor’s office as she wanted to do a scan too.

She did a transvaginal scan to check on my uterus and ovaries. Everything remained normal. I asked her if I had PCOS. She said it looks all good. There were 2 eggs on the left and 1 dominant in the right. If it was PCOS, will see many.

After the scan, she set me down in her office. We went through my results and hubby’s. She informed me that my AMH (ovarian reserve) remained high, general health was fantastic (no blood sugar, cholesterol issues, high blood pressure.. liver, kidneys and thyroids were healthy). As I had negative for multi-gene disorder (SMA, Cystic Fibrosis, etc etc) tests, hubby need not take these tests. His sperm report came back with slightly more motile sperms (100k more and most were rapid instead of sluggish like during the IUI). His morphology became 5 (previously 3). Considering that he only started on supplements a month ago, this is pretty decent. She prescribed me with Birth Control Pills (“BCP”). Out of curiosity, I asked why as I always thought that BCP was bad for the body and impedes fertility. On the contrary, she said nope and that it actually helps to lower the risk of cervical and breast cancer. She also explained to me in a simple manner that she wanted the old eggs out and grow new eggs totally. Based on my results, she recommended the Antagonist protocol, specifically Lupron Gonal-f Multidose. Gonal-f is really expensive but according to my doctor, this is one of the best protocols with the highest success rates. I am to take my BCP for 21 days and my menses will come on 5-7 days after that. I am to overlap Lupron with last 4 BCP. Thereafter, to schedule a baseline scan when my period comes and hormonal bloodwork (progesterone and estrogen).

So yeps.. Wait again!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started